Interstellar Outta This World!

I can’t believe how much I loved this movie! I’m not one to post movie reviews for fear of spoilers, but man Interstellar was too good not to rave about. Seriously, outta this world mind-blowing. Especially for a science-dodo like me. I kept asking myself one question.

Interstellar MemeTruth be told, the trailer doesn’t do this movie justice. By trying NOT to reveal the key plot twist, the trailer makes it look like a bunch of hype. But trust me, it isn’t! It’s just really hard to explain in 1 minute or less. So I’ll try 5 minutes instead.

Basically, the people of planet Earth have used up all their resources and the plants they have left are dying off. No shocker there, right? Matthew McConaughey’s character here is a former NASA engineer when what the world needs is more farmers. So you see where this is going. Secret government project to explore space and figure out a way for humanity to survive. Sorry if that’s a spoiler alert, but there are tons more surprises coming.

These government people convince Matt to leave his kids on Earth and go up into space to find the solution. Only he can pilot their ship. But what he finds up there is WAY more than he bargained for. SPOILER ALERT: Black holes to new galaxies bring in this theory of Einstein’s on relativity. Anne Hathaway’s character best explains it as time slippage the closer you get to a black hole. (I think, anyway.) And yet it’s the black hole that opens the window to new life, if they can just make it back to Earth before everyone dies out.

Those are just glimpses of the surprising twists and turns throughout this beautifully crafted movie. Thankfully, Intersellar doesn’t make that too-obvious jump into horror movie. It’s thrilling, it’s suspenseful. But no horror like every other space movie. Bet you’re wondering what those twists are now. I will mention there are some random cameos from other awesome actors.

Just watching this movie makes you think for hours, even days afterwards. But the best part, it was also completely inspiring. All those out-of-the-box thoughts led to new ideas about the plot of my own book. Not to mention a renewed energy to write my dystopian piece with similar where’d-that-come-from plot twists, even though my story is completely different.

So Interstellar I salute you! Thank you for inspiring me to think crazy new thoughts.

love Movies that Make you Think? seen Interstellar? I’d Love to know your Thoughts. 🙂

9 Comments

  1. I saw this movie Monday and really liked it as well. I especially liked the interplay between heady science and tear-jerking relationships in my head. Yes, I cried at several points and was wowed by the complexity of the universe. Some of the twists did not catch me as I know the axiom in writing, “don’t bring a gun on stage unless you are going to use it.” I’m glad to hear that it stirred your muse! I can’t wait to see your next book.

    Like

  2. I’m glad to hear there’s no horror! I was traumatized by Prometheus- I did not think that movie was going to be like it was, grossed me out. K, rant done. =) We’ll probably see Interstellar once it’s out on DVD, as going to the theater hardly happens now that we have a kid. Though we are going to see Mockingjay. We have a baby-sitter, whoo!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

