9/11: I Remember

World Trade Center Towers view from the Empire State Building, 7/11/2000

In my search for throwback pictures, I came across this photo that made me pause. This shot was taken from the Empire State building fourteen months before the tragedy of 9/11. I was a 16-year-old girl on a missions trip to NYC, marveling at the beauty of the Manhattan skyline. Not once did I imagine that skyline would change, that these buildings wouldn’t stand forever.

Fourteen months later I was in college, watching on TV as the second plane struck its tower. Classes were cancelled, an emergency chapel meeting called.  Even as I write this, I’m reliving the abject horror I felt, the tears I couldn’t contain. Not then, not now.

I wasn’t there on 9/11, but I was watching like the rest of America, the whole world really. I’ve only been to New York City once, fourteen months prior to 9/11.

And I still remember.

Leave a Reply

