Novel Update

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is over now. Phew! I started out strong, but life happened and I wasn’t able to complete the prescribed goal of 50,000 words in November. However, I got about half-way there and that’s an excellent start. So far I’ve written 80 pages of my new novel, Enemy at Home.

The story follows a West Virginia kindergarten teacher as she learns her fiance is a homegrown terrorist and tries to escape his network of internal spies. In the beginning I’d envisioned it as a pure suspense/thriller, but in writing the first 80 pages last month I discovered it’s more of a suspense with romantic elements. It seems I can’t keep the romance out of my fiction, hehe. 🙂

NaNoWriMo was a great experience, and a super challenging one too. It’s hard for me to just write and turn off my internal editor. Since I had the whole story outlined, including the characters, I thought it would be easy and the writing would just flow. But it was harder to piece it together than I thought. The timing, getting my characters from one scene to another, was something I hadn’t factored in. Overall it was a powerful learning experience that I won’t forget.

Next week I’ll be starting my weekly December giveaways just in time for Christmas. There will be plenty of chances to enter starting Tuesday, December 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

