It’s NaNoWriMo Time!

It’s that time of year–time for my first attempt at writing a novel in a month for National Novel Writing Month.  Since I’ve already written my first novel, but have no place to sell it, it’s time to move on to the next project. What better time to tackle a new novel than NaNoWriMo?

My project is currently titled Enemy at Home. It’s an idea that’s been waiting in the wings for years. And now is it’s time to shine. Enemy at Home follows a kindergarten teacher who finds out her fiance and his family are homegrown terrorists planning a serious bombing. When they figure out how much she knows, they sic their FBI mole to frame her and chase her across the country. How exciting is that?

I know what you’re thinking. How can she possibly write a novel in a month? I don’t know if it’s possible. But no one knows until they try, right? I’m trying to give myself every advantage by plotting out my novel beforehand. And working up my characters. But that’s still no guarantee I’ll finish. Whatever happens, I know I’ll be closer to a completed novel than when I started.

I do have many challenges up ahead. First, I have a full-time job. And for some reason I decided to take an MBA marketing class. Silly me. Oh yeah, and my silly right hand keeps trying to act like I’m fifty years older than I am. Stupid tendonitis. Last but not least, I have a short story due to my beloved PYP group. It may come directly from my NaNoWriMo pages. Honestly, what’s a girl to do? Well, I hope to suck it up and write, write, write. So wish me luck. And say a prayer or two. 🙂

What does this mean for my blog? Well I hope to post updates whenever possible. My goal for November is once a week. If you whine about it, I may be inclined to post more. If all goes well. But that probably means no extras this month. No book reviews, giveaways, or author interviews. But that’ll just make December even sweeter right? I hope you hang with me until then. Christmas really brings out the giveaways in me. 🙂

4 Comments

  1. I had the same dilemma when I started NaNo. But since the idea for my other novel has been called “unmarketable” I decided to take a break and start a new novel. You should always go with your gut. And maybe use NaNo principles to keep you on track for your polishing efforts. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

