The Real Author

Sometimes it’s easy to get lost in the nuances and minutia of writing a story that I forget who the real author is. As a writer, God has given me specific skills and talents to craft a story into an instrument that can be used for his glory. And as a Christian my stories need to somehow speak a message from God. The message can be subtle or overt, but it needs to be there.

Fortunately we have great examples throughout the Bible of all kinds of writing. Poetry, non-fiction, and the parables of Jesus. In my opinion writing fiction is akin to these parables. His stories are the best examples for a fiction writer.

There are over forty of Jesus’ parables recorded in the gospel books of the Bible. Each is a story with relatable characters doing relatable things that illustrate the point Jesus wanted to convey. Many people discovered the truth and were set free by the stories of Jesus.

In the modern world a novel can be a great escape. My favorite books reveal a new truth through the character’s eyes and ultimately point me back to the Jesus–the real author. As I strive to create the best story, I need to remember the Creator. He has a plan and a vision for everything I write. It’s a relief, actually. When I find myself getting overwhelmed, all I have to do is look to God’s word.

Words are powerful, and the Bible is the ultimate example of that. Scriptures can bring peace, comfort, encouragement and inspiration when I need it most.  Then I can work to infuse my stories with Biblical truths. In the end, all I want to do is give the glory back to God. Only then can I call myself a writer in the truest sense of the word.

“Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom . . . And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

–Colossians 3:16 – 17

Leave a Reply

