Writing Log, Day 7

This is the final day of my weeklong challenge to kickstart my writing. A pretty good day. I got two and half chapters polished up. And I cut about 3,000 words. Some of that cutting was painful. But I put it all on a pasteboard and tell myself I’ll use it again someday. Then whenever someday rolls around I check to see if I still need whatever I cut. Right now that pasteboard has 17.5K words that I don’t need. Wow that’s a lot!

I only feel bad about one thing. I had to stop in the middle of a chapter today. Usually I like to finish a chapter, but today I just couldn’t make myself do it. I still need some kind of weekend right? I have to work tomorrow, after all. Time to relax with my hubby and watch some DVR shows.

Thanks for hanging in there with me everyone. While at times I feel like I had to force myself to write, I know it was worth it. After my crushing rejection last month I needed to refocus. The agent wrote that my story was good but not great. I’ll admit, I let it get me down for a while. But then I realized, maybe he’s right. So how do I make it great? That’s why I started this writing challenge. And my book is better for it.

I still have a long way to go before I’m ready for the ACFW conference in September. But I’m working harder now. And things are getting better. That’s all you can really ask for as a writer. Continual growth. I know I’m a better writer because I keep learning. Keep reading. Keep trying new things. And I thank God for all the opportunities he’s given me. May there be many more. 🙂

3 Comments

  1. I’m so proud of you. You’ve encouraged me to give myself a challenge this week. I’m going to make realistic goals for each day this week, and Next week I’ll make goals that cause me to stretch in order to meet then.
    I wish I was able to go to St. Louis and meet you and say way to go in person.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the encouragement ladies. I have to say find what works for you. I’m the kind of person that needs to switch to a different project when I feel stuck. If I try to force something it ends up not being my best work. Good luck on your goals. I know you can do it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

