Ebook Giveaway and Interview with Author Carrie Turansky

Contemporary inspirational romance author Carrie Turansky shares about creating her first ebook, and why she decided to self-publish after going with traditional publishers for all of her other novels. All you have to do is leave a comment to be entered into the giveaway.

Q: The setting of Surrendered Hearts, Tipton, VT, was beautifully described in the book. How did you research the setting details? Where did you get the idea of the story?

A: Surrendered Hearts is set in the same fictional town as my first novel, Along Came Love. I read an article in Real Simple magazine about a young woman living in Ripton, Vermont, and that inspired me to set my novel in a similar small Vermont town. My husband and I took a trip to Vermont and we loved the quiet natural beauty there. My background and degree is in fine art, so descriptions and settings are very important to me.

Q: Tell us how you developed the characters. Where did you get the idea for the heroine’s back-story? How about the head naturalist hero?

A: I spend quite a bit of time creating my characters before I start to plot the book. I read an article in our local paper about a gas pipeline explosion and the fires and destruction that followed, and I wondered what would happen to someone who lost everything in an accident like that. I did research on burn injuries through the Phoenix Society who helps burn victims recover and offers them support. That helped me understand the problems my heroine would face. The hero was a secondary character in the first novel, so I had some chacteristics already set for him. We homeschooled our kids when they were younger, and we often visited nature centers. I did some research online about people who work in nature centers and what types of degrees and preparation they do for that job. I love nature, and so it was fun to incorporate some of that love into the story.

Q: Why did you decide to publish Surrendered Hearts as an ebook? What are the pluses and minuses you experienced in the process?

A: I wrote Surrendered Hearts four years ago, but it did not find a publishing home. I loved the story and decided I wanted to make it available to my readers who enjoyed my other books. Several had written to me asking what happened to the characters in Along Came Love.  When I heard that some published authors were trying this new route of publishing their out of print books and some new books as ebooks, I decided to give it a try. I published through Amazon Kindle and Smashwords who distributes to B & N, Sony, Apple, etc. It has been a wonderful experience, and I’ve had a lot of positive feedback from readers who’ve enjoyed the book. The reviews have been very good, too, so that’s encouraging. My hope is that women who question whether they can ever be considered beautiful will read this book and see that, yes, God loves them, and they have their own special beauty.

Q: From your traditional publishing and epublishing background, what advice do you have for authors looking for a home for their books?

A: I would encourage authors to take the time needed to grow and improve their writing before they submit to an agent, editor, or decide to self-publish. I wrote five complete novels before the first one was published. I think of those novels as equivalent to going to college to learn to write. Join critique groups, take classes, enter contests, attend conferences, and join American Christian Fiction Writers or other writers’ organization, but most of all, keep writing. This will help you gain the knowledge needed and give you the networking opportunities that may help you. Read, write, encourage and help others, and keep going!

Carrie Turansky is the award-winning author of eight inspirational romance novels and novellas. She has been a finalist for the Inspirational Readers Choice Award, The ACFW Genesis, and ACFW Carol Award and winner of the WRW Crystal Globe Award. She has been a member of American Christian Fiction Writers since 2000.Her latest releases are Christmas Mail-Order Brides, Seeking His Love, and Surrendered Hearts. She lives in central New Jersey with her husband, Scott, who is a pastor, author, speaker and counselor. They have five young adult children. Carrie and her family spent a year in Kenya as missionaries, giving them a passion for what God is doing around the world. Carrie leads women’s ministry at her church, and when she is not writing she enjoys gardening, reading, flower arranging, and cooking for friends and Family. You may contact her through her website: www.carrieturansky.com

Deadline for Giveaway: This giveaway ended on Monday, June 13. Congratulations to the winner, Lisa Ledford! 🙂


14 Comments

  1. I am such a newbie, so if you make your book an e-book you can offer it more than one place? You mentioned Amazon and B&N.
    Did you have a favorite site you researched for publishing you book?
    Thanks for your help, and I hope you sell tons of books.

    Like

  2. Hi Barbara! My friend, Sharon…over at Free Book Giveaways, sent me! As a teacher getting ready to enjoy a much needed summer break, I’d love a new faith based fiction to read on my kindle for iphone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

