Review and Book Giveaway: The Art of Romance

I just finished reading Kaye Dacus’ new book The Art of Romance from Barbour Publishing. I fell in love with the characters in this story. Caylor Evans is a thirty-something English professor living with her grandmother. She’s on the right track, but nowhere near snagging a man. Dylan Bradley escaped a troubled relationship and ruined a promising career with his mistakes. He returns home to live with his grandmother, and piece his life back together. These two have more in common than they think, including secrets that won’t stay in the past. Dacus does a great job of fleshing out each character. I loved the quirks and foibles of Caylor. Like how she couldn’t rest until she wrote down people’s annoying habits for her upcoming book. I can totally relate to that! I appreciated the honesty and sincerity of the way Dylan dealt with his struggles. In many novels characters avoid dealing with their deep issues and magically regain normalcy by the next chapter. But Dylan’s journey to God developed from a natural and sincere place as he worked with his counselor. It really tugs at your heart.

Both Caylor and Dylan had their own unique flaws, and some similar hangups, which made them come alive on the page. Since both characters are professors, the language of the book is a bit more complex. There are lots of long sentences, em dashes–and of course big words. But I do enjoy big words and love to look them up. So if that’s your kind of thing too, you’ll enjoy this book.

The plot in The Art of Romance was well-developed–the action always arising from a character’s decision. Events happened at a natural, flowing pace making it easy to follow, but still interesting. The character drama felt like it belonged right where it unfolded.  The Art of Romance  is a good read, and I look forward to the final book in the series which is due out in November 2011.

  • Visit Kaye’s site to download an excerpt from The Art of Romance

I’ll be giving away a copy of this book to one lucky reader. All you have to do is leave a comment by 11:59 p.m. on May 22nd and you’ll be entered to win. I’ll be drawing one name from the comments on Monday, May 23rd, 2011.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for review.

17 Comments

  1. I’d love to win this book! I just started a facebook page today for low entry book giveaways. I’d love for you to enter your link for your book giveaway.

    It’s called Free Book Giveaways (Since I just started the page a few minutes ago, I don’t have a facebook link yet.) You’ll have to type the name for a few more hours. Then I hope to have 25 likes so I can have a real name and link.

    I love hosting book giveaways, but I wish more people knew about them! 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Review and Book Giveaway: The Art of Romance | Giveaway Promote

Leave a Reply

