Writers Tip #4: Finding Time to Write

Sometimes the hardest part about writing is finding time to just sit down and write. (I love my laptop, it helps a lot.) It’s mostly about making writing a priority. That’s the first step.  Believe me, I know, because I didn’t do it for years. Then I wondered why I hadn’t gotten anywhere. Sheesh! Now I make writing a priority, and it’s made all the difference.

It’s still hard to fit it in sometimes, especially since I work full-time. That’s where my laptop comes in. Almost every day I use my lunch hour to write. It’s not always big important, stuff. I mean, it’s only one hour. But it is a great time to respond to emails, edit my query, edit other people’s pieces, research agents, and much more. In fact, I did all fourof those things on my lunch hour today! (That was highly productive for me, especially when I discovered an agent I’ve been dying to query is open once again 🙂 )

Now when I can’t find the time to write, it feels like I let myself down. Which brings me to my next point. I feel awful when I don’t find time to write because I’ve made goals for myself. At the beginning of the year I made a whole list of goals (2011 Goals), and posting those goals for all to see helps keep me accountable. Now that we’re a few months into the year, I felt the need to refocus. So I revamped my goals (see previous post). It’s a process, like most things. Ugh, I know. But that’s what works for me. Goals and deadlines motivate me. So find what motivates you and don’t be afraid to make big goals. It doesn’t matter if you reach every goal on time.  The main thing is that you make writing a priority and work on your goal. That’s what counts.

I’d love to hear from you! What are your tricks for fitting writing into your day?

9 Comments

  1. I have the same issues with keeping myself on task, but it is not finding the time always that is the hardest for me. It is picking the wip back up and getting going. I just set up some goals for myself earlier today.

    Best of luck to you.

    Liz

    Like

    • LIZ: Staying motivated is important, too. That’s one reason I revamp my goals when I need to. I checked out your blong, and I’m glad to see you’ve set some goals. I’ve find that putting my goals down on the internet keeps me accountable. And of course I link it to facebook. The wonder of social media! Then I really can’t stray. At least that’s what I tell myself. Good luck to you! Keep us posted 🙂

      Like

  2. It’s been tough going here, but I think it has more to do with getting so close to the end that I’m beginning to ‘fear’ all the what-ifs. What if I do finish and I don’t have something marketable? I did open up my file and type over 1300 words yesterday. I’m hoping to repeat that number later this evening.

    So, you mind sharing which agent it open? *G* You can email me privately if you’d like. I have a list of six agents that I know take historical inspirationals. Not a very long list, but it’s been several months since I’ve searched.

    Are you attending ACFW tomorrow?

    Like

  3. CHRISTINA: I think once you finish, you can make it marketable. At least I hope so, since that’s what I’m trying to do.

    Kelly Mortimer is the agent that just opened up. I’ve been waiting for Rachelle Gardner to open up, too, but no luck on her.

    I’m planning on going to the meeting tomorrow. I hope to see you there. 🙂

    Like

  4. I’ve found much pleasure in going to the coffee shop once a week and spending three uninterrupted hours to just write. I know exactly what you mean when you say “Now when I can’t find the time to write, it feels like I let myself down.” When I can’t go – I’m hugely disappointed in myself and it’s gets so bad that I don’t feel right until I do go.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Writing Tip #6: Make Writing a Priority « Barbara Hartzler

Leave a Reply

