March 2011 Goals

I’ve been doing pretty well on my original 2011 goals. But now that we’re a few months into 2011, I’ve found the need to revamp my goals. Especially for March. March is the beginning of Spring, and a great time to refocus. Goals and deadlines are great motivators for me. And putting them on my blog just fuels the motivation and makes me further obligated to stick to them.  So here goes:

  1. Revamp query and send to five more agents
  2. Finish reading Self-editing for Fiction Writers by Renni Browne and Dave King, one chapter at a time
  3. Finish draft 4 of YA romantic comedy, A Corner of Reality (so I can start my next novel 🙂 )
  4. Finish snowflake design for next novel
  5. Keep up with once a week blog
  6. Attend my local writers meeting

It’ll be a lot for one month, but I want to get my first novel finished by the time I attend the Called to Write Conference on April 1st. And again, I’m motivated by deadlines. Why not go for it? I’m ready to move on from my first novel to my next project, a girl-on-the-run thriller. I even plan to start Novel Track in April, another great service from ACFW, that encourages writers to write one chapter a week. But that’s next month. 🙂

4 Comments

  1. Deadlines and goals is one of the reasons I love social media. It’s like I have a hundred people looking over my shoulder to make sure I accomplished what I set out to do.

    Also, I couldn’t help but notice you were a member of ACFW. I’d love to know more about this organization if you wanted to swap some emails…when you are not trying to accomplish your goals for March that is.

    Keep in touch!

    Like

  2. I’m terrible about keeping goals. I’m participating in a 50k challenge. The idea is to write 50k by June 28. It’s totally doable. I know it is. But I didn’t sign up necessarily for the deadline. I wanted to push myself to finish one of my novels. I’m less than 20k from finishing. My ideal was to produce 2500 words a day, but that hasn’t worked out yet. So after a 1200 word count for the first week I decided this week I would try and double that count. If I can write 900 words tonight and tomorrow, I’ll succeed.

    Like

    • Good luck on your goals Aaron & Christina. 50K sounds like a lot. Have you tried the snowflake method? It’s supposed to help you write quicker by getting all your ideas out up front. I really enjoy using it. I’ve only been a member of ACFW since December. But I’ve found it’s such a great resource. I was desperate for critiques, and their crit group is great. I’m excited to try novel track next month. (You can find it on the Member Home page under Get Connected). They send you encouraging emails and help you set a writing goal. I can’t wait to try it. If it’s anything like their crit group, it’ll take me to a new level in my writing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

