Book Genres Like Movie Categories?

I recently learned that the term chick lit is on its way out. Boo! I thought it was such a clever term for my favorite genre. At the last meeting of my local ACFW chapter I was informed that chick lit is a dying term, but the genre will still be around. Phew! Then I’d have to read something else like cozy mysteries or speculative fiction, which would not be that bad since I think those genre names are fun :).

Apparently the new terminology is romantic comedy, just like movie categories. (Hmm . . . that makes me wonder if the movie industry is plotting to take over the world.  But that’s another blog.) When trying to fit my book into a genre, I’ve been struggling with the term romantic comedy. It just doesn’t seem to fit my book. Maybe that means that chick lit wasn’t exactly right either. I’d say my book is fun and lighthearted at times, but it also deals with serious issues like forgiveness and letting the past go. But I wouldn’t say that it’s a comedy, as in laugh-out-loud hilarious. I guess it is a comedy in the classical sense because it has a happy ending, as opposed to a tragedy. So if a book is funny, even sarcastic at times, with a happy ending and there’s romance involved it must be a romantic comedy right? Not exactly like a Katherine Heigl movie, but maybe I can get her to star in the movie version. Who knows?

Maybe I’m the only one out of the loop on the happenings of chick lit, but if not get ready, it’s not gonna be around too long. For anyone who loves chick lit like I do, you may be sad to see it go. At least it’s going in name only. The essence will remain.

Leave a Reply

