2011 Great Expectations Writing Contest

I just entered the Great Expecations writing contest sponsored by the North Texas Romance Writers of America. It has several categories. I entered the first 25 pages of my novel A CORNER OF REALITY in the Inspirational fiction category. I thought about entering in the young adult category too, since the age range is through college and my protagonist is a freshman. But alas, $35 is considerably less than $70. I wonder why that is?

The prizes are small, $50 for 1st place, $3o for 2nd, $15 for third, but could lead to a book contract. Mainly I entered for the critiques. In the first round you get three judges to critique your work, which can be pretty helpful. In the final round an actual editor in your category reviews each piece. I would love it if I made it that far!

Hopefully this is the first of many contests I will enter. I hear they’re a great way to get feedback and even get your foot in the door. I can’t wait to see what happens. If anyone’s entered GE before, post a comment about what it’s like.

Don’t worry. I’ll write another blog when I get the results, probably in February. Gotta keep myself busy until then. Good thing I have a list of goals to refer back to.

Now I’m taking a mini-break from writing. How mini? Just until Monday, January 3rd. Then I have to start keeping up with my 2011 goals. Until then, Happy New Year!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Writers Tip #3: Enter a Contest « Barbara Hartzler

Leave a Reply

